Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
how much of this is the normal heartbreak of breeding?

I posted under the eblow dysplasia heading and was going to ask how I might comfort this puppy buyer. But as I think of it I know there is no comfort. I feel guilty for bringing unhappiness into the lives of folks who have bought a pup from me and leave here full of happy expectations of many years to share with their new family member. I have been showing and breeding for 10 years. I have produced 10 litters from 2 different lines of females. In those litters I have produced: Allergies, TVD, OCD of hocks and now elbow dysplasia. All parents had appropriate health clearances. Puppy problems that we have gotten past with litters:puppy strangles, swimmers, herpes, c-sections and fading puppy. Is this normal or am I plagued by bad luck?

Re: how much of this is the normal heartbreak of breeding?

Welcome to modern Labrador breeding.

I think your story should be passed on to all "new breeders".

It does not matter who the parents are, but what the entire family tree consists of. Without ACCURATE information you are stabbing in the dark.

I hope you scrapped your program and decided to start over, armed with more knowledge.

That level of heartbreak to your puppy buyers is unbelieveably sad. You signed on for heartbreak by calling yourself "breeder", but the poor puppy buyers sure did not. My heart goes out to them.

To you, my hope is that will will find good direction and be the recipient of a good foundation to resart.

Wow, it does sounds like you have had some really bad luck, worse than most from what I can tell.
My suggestion - start over again with some lines you know, find a mentor that knows them, get to know who you can trust.
I'm so sorry you have had such bad luck.
It's not all as bad as that.

Re: Re: how much of this is the normal heartbreak of breeding?