Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

My sitter just called me and said her friend's 3 day old kittens have fleas. Is there a safe way to get rid of them? The mother cat was Frontlined a month ago.

Re: Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

Back in the day when I worked as a vet assistant, we had a foster mom come in covered in fleas. All the vet would do was flea-comb and wash the kits in water on a daily basis to get as many fleas as possible off. With the little ones, death through anemia is possible if the fleas aren't taken care of. This method was successful enough that they all thrived.

Re: Re: Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

Dish soap!!

Re: Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

DAWN dish soap.

Re: Re: Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

DISH SOAP AND A FLEA COMB.

DON'T LET THE MOM OUTSIDE TO BING ANY MORE
FLEASE TO HER KITTENS.

Re: Re: Re: Don't laugh--kitten flea problem

PLEASE be sure they use NO chemicals or commercial remedies, they are deadly!
I bred Maine Coons for some time and the advice about the DAWN is 100% correct. It is often used as a primary shampoo even.
Another good trick in very small doses is a cotton swab of alcohol as it immobilizes the fleas for easy removal.