Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Stud Choice

AS a newbie, what you would recommend....first time litter, and bitch's first litter. I have a choice of a nice local stud with a CH/JH. Good lines, charming dog. Would add what I need for my bitch. Or a line on an out of state CH stud. He's what I see in my mind when I think of what my kennel should be in the future. But as a newbie, I will have to go through AI, progesterone testing, multiple vet visits, shipping semen, and the extra costs that involves....which seems like ALOT to learn right from the start.

Bitch's breeder and a trusted breeder friend think I should stay local for the first time until I know how my girl whelps. Respected friend who is new like me, thinks I should go for the "golden ring" so to speak, since I have the opportunity.

Out of state CH is used alot, but not in my area. Local CH/JH is used alot in my area, but not out of the area. If I breed to local stud, pups will be related to every other dog in the state. If I breed to out of state stud, I will have a new line and maybe a to die for litter.

Any thoughts?

Re: Stud Choice

My series of questions that I would start with when contemplating breeding one of my girls for the first time #1 WHY do I want to produce these puppies? a) to test my bitch or b)to potentially move my breeding program to the place where I see my kennel in the future, #2 Have I selected the absolutely best male you can find so that you will produce something that you will want to hang on to show/hunt or otherwise compete with? #3 Why would you not do progesterone testing regardless of where the stud dog is? #4 "Whelping" has nothing to do with who you choose as stud dog.
Finally we all learn when we breed, and spending a extra few hundred dollars may look like a hurdle BUT "stretching" to do something that could put you on the path to a great foundation dog or bitch "PRICELESS!"