Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Novice breeder over her head

I received a call yesterday from someone referred by my regular vet regarding a breeding. This woman called late in the afternoon and explained her situation to me. Seems she has the #1 dog in her breed (toy breed), who she finished at *EIGHT MONTHS*, and, (this will really get you) this was her second champion she finished herself! Total novice, and she hit the jackpot with the first two dogs she bought.
Now everybody wants to breed to her young stud dog who is now 18 months old. He has taken this breed's world by storm. Trouble is, this stud owner has no idea how to breed dogs or manage a stud dog. She merely took the visiting bitch into her home, the day the vet said to breed, and expected a maiden bitch and novice stud dog to just, well, breed! She tried her best for two days, and at the end of the second day, called me! I asked her questions that I hoped would give me some answers so I could help her, but she had no idea when the progesterone tests were done, or what the levels were. She only was told by the bitch owner (also fairly inexperienced) to breed Monday and Tuesday. She didn't even know if her stud had had an outside tie or if he had penetrated the bitch, saying she was unable to see what they were doing.