Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Help with Supplementing Puppies

My Dazzle had her litter last night and this morning, and shocked me by having 12 puppies. In the first 24 hours (or less for some of the wee ones) five of the pups have lost weight, and only 3 have gained. I am starting to supplement the puppies, but have some questions as I've never done this before.

I am using a bottle to feed them. My procedure has been to go from pup to pup, get the nipple in their mouth, and give them a chance to nurse. If they spit it out I don't force them, but if they nurse I let them do so until they spit the nipple out. Not all the pups will drink from the bottle, but several have. They have unlimited access to their Mom as well, and she is nursing them.

A couple of the puppies upchucked some/all of what they drank from the bottle. Should I give them a specific amount rather than letting them drink til full, and if so, how much.

Obviously, this formula is different from what they are getting from their Mom. I don't want them to get diarrea - some of them are pretty tiny as it is. Should I give them Benebac as a precaution?

Any other tips/suggestions/guidance would be welcomed. I really don't want to lose any of these precious little chocolate drops due to something preventable on my part.

Thanks,
~Karlene & Dazzle

Re: Help with Supplementing Puppies

Let mom take over nursing duties. Her milk is better. If you supplement unnecessarily, her milk supply will lessen due to lack of demand and then you'll really have a problem on your hands.

If you end up having to supplement, tube them with goat's milk. Your vet can show you how.