Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
show breeders

I have found much that rings true with the thread introduced by the "novice". I'm a newbie too.

I have tried to do a lot of time at dog shows, and lab specialties...trying to learn...my disinchantment came with the terrible "trash talk" I heard "ringside" by other breeders against the other other breeders. Where is the "comraderie?????" I guess I expected a force of breeders who cared more about the breed than their own "advancement" in the show world. No reason to respond to my post. I just think that this needs to be recognized....and changed. I am commited to being the "encourager" on the side lines...remember high school sports???? I say we remember that we can be happy for the winners, and good loosers...and people who encourage, not discourage.
I tried to build these 'realationships' with show breeders by "introducing" myself, letting them get to know me...but all I found was people who tore down other peoples' dogs (to impress me???) I don't know...it did not impress me....it actually made me "suspicious". I will only attach myself to the ones who are positive. To those of you who "criticize" other breeders...I would immediately NOT buy a pup from you.
The new generation of lab breeders will be different...kind...encouraging...hopefully. I hope I encourage many of you to see that we can all be supportive of each other...and the breed we represent. Thank you to all of you who pass the torch and really love the Labrador, so much so that you don't care if someone who is a "newbie" actually "grabs the torch" and runs with it...with all the integrity we need to see as this breed developes.

Re: show breeders