Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Best Food for Labs

I am sure that this question gets asked often - but this is my first time on this site and I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the info...

I am looking for a good quality food for my two labs, one of whom has a fairly sensitive stomach. We have been feeding them Diamond Lamb and Rice, but I was recently informed that the quality might not be as good as I thought. I do need to consider the price of the food as well as the availability. I usually try to buy from local stores... but something that is widely available would be great.

Opinions, please. Thanks!

Re: Best Food for Labs

Well I find each Lab is different. You never get to feed all out of the same bucket. I really like to stay away from corn. You have to do your own food trails to see what works best. You could ask your breeder what has worked best for their line. :)

Re: Re: Best Food for Labs

Good idea - for some reason I think they fed them the Royal Canin. I don't think I could find the breeder for the lab with the sensitive stomach... that was an impulse buy. Our younger one was a more thought out investment and is a Dickendall lab...which is where I got the link to this website.

Re: Re: Re: Best Food for Labs

We've just switched from Chicken Soup (made by Diamond) to Diamonds Ultimite Althete
32% protein 26% Fat 470Kcal per cup
My one girls is a hard keeper..4 cups a day holds her in good weight.
Coats look fantantic..my very light yellows coats have a much deeper sheen. Price wise on a good sale(25% off everything in the store LOL) 22.50 for 40lbs..normally 30.00 at one place and 35.oo at another.
KayGee