Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
How to tell an open or incorrect coat??

I am wondering if there is a way to identify an open coat on a puppy?
I am not experienced with this and I am not sure if I might have one.
Thank you!

Re: How to tell an open or incorrect coat??

Do people mean different things when they use the phrase "open" coat? I thought open coat simply meant lacking in undercoat so the guard hairs themselves don't seem as dense. Others have used "open coat" to mean when the guard hairs are too long (which I see a lot know-a-days), even if they lay flat and really don't appear open. Bottom line...I really don't know what people mean by the phrase "open coat".

Take your puppy for a swim. If he can shake dry after coming out of the water, he has a correct coat.
Not sure with little puppies, but this is how I found out what I had in my kennel.

Puppies often are such fur balls that in reality, they almost all have open coats. I guess it might matter the age. I'm thinking in the 6-8 week range.

A twizzle at the end of the tail is a good indicator that they will have a correct, "wrapped" tail, which is usually an indicator of a correct, tight coat.

For the poster who asked about the meaning of an open coat; an open coat is one that the outer coat grows pointing out, as opposed to lying flat, and tight against the body. An example of a breed with an open coat might be a Chow, or maybe Akita. (I'm not an expert on those breeds, but that's what came to my mind) They have a thick dense coat, but it grows out. They are warm coats, but do not repel water.