Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
age-related incontinent dog

my old boy is 13 years, he has had incontinent issues for past year while asleep, but lately he is dribbling as he walks as well.
Is there any herbal supplements that can help him out?

Re: age-related incontinent dog

I know that some people use Proin for female spay incontinence with success, but I have no experience with it, and I do not know if it will work for the boys. I am sure you could consult with your veterinarian for more information on that, or herbal supplementation.

I have successfully used Belly Bands in the past for one of my old guys that dribbled a little.

There are several manufacturers of Belly Bands, this is just the first link I Googled that had good pictures, so you could get the idea. Best of luck!

http://www.bellybands.net/#how%20they%20are%20designed

I don't know of anything herbal that will help but when our old girl started having the same problem, we put her on Stilbestrol (sp?) and it worked wonderfully.

You could try cornsilk tea. I used to make my own by pouring boiling water over the corn-silks and letting it steep for 5 minutes.

There is also something called "Tinkle Tonic" that you could Google. I believe that is made with herbs.

I used Proin (Phenylpropanolamine) with great success. It works by tightening up the splincter muscles. I was home all day to let my girl out often, so I was able to give her one pill with her supper to get her through the night.

BTW I also put up the water bowl at 7 pm.