Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Orijen Problem?

Has anyone ever had problems with Orijen Adult becoming moldy? I recently sent a new, unopened bag of Adult 80/20 with my dog's pro-field trainer. In about a week and a half after being opened it became moldy and had to be tossed.

I've been feeding this food for well over a year without any complaints and was surprised to have this happen. Any thoughts or experiences like this? TIA

Re: Orijen Problem?

Could moisture have gotten into the bag? Never have had this happen, nor heard of it happening before.

Ours has been fine. I am quite anal about keeping the bag very tightly closed though. Lots of rain here lately, everything is moist....

But, now that I think about it, my bags don't last a week and a half! :)

I don't feed it anymore but I've heard that complaint before.

I've been feeding Orijen for almost 5 years, one bag a week and have never had a mold issue. The only time anything 'odd' happened with the food was when it was particularly hot and I had left the food in the car for a week.

I'd venture to say they opened it, it got wet and they re-folded the bag.

I've been feeding Orijen for about 4 1/2 years, but I go through at least 2 bags per week of different products, Adult, Senior & LB Puppy, NEVER an issue.

I have never had a problem with mold and Orijen. I feed it on a limited basis only because of the price. To those of you who feed Orijen, how do you do this ecomonically? Wow! Expensive, but good stuff. Any suggestions?

We've been feeding Orijen and Acana (made by the same company) for many years and never had any problems. Yes, it is expensive but so worth it. We get together with other people and buy it in bulk (pallet) - helps to save for everyone.

Thanks everyone! I'm staying with Orijen!
CM wish you were near by ~ would love to
take advantage of your bulk price.