Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Chlorophyll for my bitch going into season

Okay I am brand new to this part of owning a male and female dog. My 11 month old female is just starting to menstrate.I have Chlorophyll and as of now she has been given tablets, I would have started sooner but there were no tell tale signs until last evening when we got home from work. I have tried vanilla and vicks on the male and I have even rubbed a little at the base of her tail. We live in a small home and our dogs live in the home with us. I do have crates but only the female is crated when we are not home (about 10 hrs a day) and at bedtime. I believe this is a 3 week process........HELP WE ARE GOING TO GO NUTS.......... I will be buying doggie pants for her, what else can I do, how long will the menstration last? I believe from what I have been told and read we have made it through the 1st stage of the cycle,so am I looking at another 3 weeks????????????? This newbie really needs help and input here, and it will be greatly appreciated.

Chlorophyll for my bitch going into season

Have you spoken to your Vet yet? Perhaps he can shed some light for you.

Re: Chlorophyll for my bitch going into season

First, stop calling it menstruation. Dogs do not menstruate. You have to keep them separated when you are not home. Do not leave the bitch in a crate with the dog lose. He will try to breed her through the crate and may be successful. Or, he could injure himself severely trying. I have found the dog is less stress when he can see the girl. So crate them in the same room. Are you planning on spaying this bitch later, or breeding her. Having an intact bitch in your home with an intact dog is always nightmarish for all involved. Some breeders have some luck by collecting the boy.

Instead of menstruation, use these terms. Or, simply say she is in season or in heat. :