Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Bitch in season acting "funny" (not in a good way)

When I first got involved in Labs, I had all boys. I'm still fairly new to bitches and I'm confused by the behavior of one of my girls.

She is usually the sweetest girl in the world. Happy, fun-loving, and she gets along well with everyone.

She is 2 years old now and something "funny" is going on with this season. She's started to angrily yip at one of my boys when he comes up to the other side of the fence. Plus, today she "went off" one on the other girls. She didn't bite her or draw blood, but she did snarl at her and get her down on the ground.

She has NEVER displayed this type of behavior before. I'm thinking this it might be hormonal???

So here are my questions to long time bitch owners:

1) could this be hormonal?
2) will this behavior go away?
3) is there a supplement/nutritional element that may be missing that would cause this ??(in the same way that low calcium in new mothers can make them "testy")

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I have never seen this kind of behavior and her temperament has always been wonderful. I'd hate to scrap her from my program if she just needs a boost of vitamin k or something like that.

Re: Bitch in season acting "funny" (not in a good way)

CRATE THIS BITCH,away from other dogs , sure it could be hormomal , but I would only AI her , she is liable to take a stud dogs face off.

Yes, that does sound hormonal and although I do not often hear of a bitch going to this extreme it can happen. I would keep her away from all others dogs and bitches if you have another bitch. I do agree that when you go to breed her only AI her dont tie her. As far as supplementing her the one time I had this happen quite a few years ago we did not give her anything in addition to her regular diet and it goes away (went away) after the heat.

confused