Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
How Soon?

I'm rather new to breeding. Did show stuff first.
I bred my girl and she's at 3 1/2 weeks since she was bred and she looks very NOT pregnant. How long before I see that she's got babies on board?

Re: How Soon?

Anxious New Breeder
I'm rather new to breeding. Did show stuff first.
I bred my girl and she's at 3 1/2 weeks since she was bred and she looks very NOT pregnant. How long before I see that she's got babies on board?

Why dont you do an Sonogram at 30 days and you will know

Until 28 days post breeding you would have trouble even seeing them on ultrasound.

My repro vet does ultrasounds at 23 days after first breeding (usually 25 days from ovulation). Go take a peek if you're curious ;)

Try doing the ring test, it's free, lol.

I wouldn't get an ultrasound too early, most vets don't have higher resolution US machines to see babies at 23 days.

My vet can see babies on board as early as day 21 post ovulation... so I've always gone around that day and we've always seen babies :) Good luck!!

You can do ultrasound, as others have mentioned. As far as being able to look at them and tell, it's usually between 5 and 6 weeks before we can see them "showing". It usually starts with a loss of wasteline.

At 3 1/2 weeks she would not look pregnant.

Mike

Without any technology, week 5. You are way ahead. Are you doing this without a mentor??? Please read some books about breeding dogs. Not to be mean, but it sounds like you have no clue about what you are doing.

I am curious Did you take your girl to do ultrasound on her to confirm pregnancy??