Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Calcium/Phosphorus Ratios again (is this OK?)

So I have been feeding a food for the last several months that I LOVE!

It's a very high quality food, given 4.5 and 5 star ratings by dog food advisor.

Now I have puppies and I want to put them on the same brand of puppy food. It also has very high quality ingredients, but the calcium/phosphorus ratio is 1.6 : 1.

For those of you on here who are incredibly knowledgable. What do you think of this ratio for puppy food? The articles I've found suggest that 1.2 : 1 is ideal, but nothing I've found says at what ratio the risk for OCD and HD begin to increase.

Your thoughts please?

Re: Calcium/Phosphorus Ratios again (is this OK?)

FWIW-Dog food advisor is one person's idea about dog food. it's not the dog food bible that so many folks think it is.

me
FWIW-Dog food advisor is one person's idea about dog food. it's not the dog food bible that so many folks think it is.
I found this post interesting.

Where do you go to read about dog foods? For example; which site tells you which foods were recalled and what the OP asked? Is there a site, not a bible but 1 with good information?

Believe it or not, there is a pretty passionate food following on one of the pet boards.... www.lab-retriever.net

I have seen every recall listed immediately, folks love to hash out percentages, discuss ingredients, more than most will ever care to know about their dog food. There is even a group that know ALOT about raw.

If I wanted the nitty gritty, I would go there.

Believe it or not, there is a pretty passionate food following on one of the pet boards.... www.lab-retriever.net

I have seen every recall listed immediately, folks love to hash out percentages, discuss ingredients, more than most will ever care to know about their dog food. There is even a group that know ALOT about raw.

If I wanted the nitty gritty, I would go there.