Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Food besides Orijen/Acana

I have been feeding Orijen & Acana to my labs for over 4 years, and they have been doing wonderful on it. Champion pet foods who makes the food is having production issues, and it is becoming harder and harder to get. I have a Senior boy and 2 younger females (4 yo & 15 months)

I prefer to feed grain free (please don't blast me on my choice to do this), and have been looking at other grain free foods, but a lot seem to have turkey as the main protein (which has been a cause for ear problems in my one boy in the past).

I am looking for suggestions for food - grain free or not - I know each dog is different, but interested in what is working for everyone else.

Thank you in advance -

Lynn

Re: Food besides Orijen/Acana

You might try Earthborn Holistic. It has a few grain-free products. I have been using Coastal Catch for a dog that can't eat chicken, ever since I couldn't get Acana Pacifica back this summer. Coastal Catch, Great Plains, and Meadow do not have turkey.

Natural Balance is another grain-free food that is supposed to be good.

Canidae Pure Land is Bison and Lamb.
Canidae pure Sea is Salmon.

I like to mix it up a bit and will rotate varieties.

I personally perfer the
Canidae Pure Sky Duck and Turkey
or Canidae Pure Elements Chicken Turkey Lamb and Fish but my Mom'd dogs do better without Turkey too so the Land is what she prefers to feed her dogs.

I have been feeding my girl Blue Buffalo turkey and potato for 5 months. Prior to that she was itchy, losing patches of hair, ears and feet were a mess. She was miserable. I was bathing her with antibacterial soap from the vet twice a day, cleaning ears twice a day. I know there is some contraversy about the Blue Buffalo. If it hadn't worked I'd be doing the raw diet. Good luck.