Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
bladder stones

Help!!!!!!!!!!

I received a call, the 20 month old male is in ER with bladder stones, and may need surgery.

he is eating Blue (Buffalo)

this is a well bred dog, and I have not had any experience with bladder stones. I have been breeding for approximately 18 years.

anyway, the Er vet wants to do surgery that is very expensive. The owner wants to take him to his vet tomorrow for a 2nd opinion.

This 20 month old male is vomiting, and can't urinate. He has been to the vet 3 times with this problem.

Re: bladder stones

I have no advice, but please post back here with how this turns out. I have not heard of bladder stones in dogs. But, if he can't urinate, I am sure that is an emergency. Keep us posted!

Yes it is very expensive to have the stones removed, but if they can hydropulse the ones blocking the urethra back into the bladder and leave the urinary catheter in, they might be able to get him to their regular vet in the am. Maybe not. They should still expect >$1000 bill.

The diet is probably the culprit. I've seen many a dog develop bladder stones while on Blue Buffalo.

I have seen bladder stones in a variety of dogs and cats, and they do also seem to be more prevalent in different areas... places with very hard water (high mineral content of water) seem to go with an increased incidence in the population from what I have personally seen in the various areas where I have practiced.

Diet/water source (I typically recommend bottled or filtered water depending on the area) or chronic urinary tract infections which can alter the urine pH are probably the most likely causes I have seeen of certain more common types of crystals and stones. They will know when they remove the stone and perform analysis on it. Certain breeds such as dalmations are prone to other types (urates, etc).