Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Virus and Vaccinations

This is my first time dealing with the Canine Papilloma virus. My 18 month old has a small wart on her jowl. We have been to the vet, and told to let it run its course. Now working on building up immune system. She is due for her Lyme and Lepto vaccine this month (she was in a month ago for rabies and distemper combo), and I am wondering if her immune system is already low should I wait for the CPV to run its course then finish the vaccinations. The vet said it would be fine to vaccinate. My gut says to wait - what is the rush. Just wondered what others have experienced.

Re: Virus and Vaccinations

Never vaccinate a sick animal. If only vets would remember that!

I would also have given the rabies shot by itself and waited to do the other vaccinations.

Lablover
Never vaccinate a sick animal. If only vets would remember that!

I would also have given the rabies shot by itself and waited to do the other vaccinations.
Why do vets combine rabies with another vaccination always?? Of all people, they should know better.

Tell your puppy families not to allow it and insist on spacing any vaccines 3-4 weeks apart and follow those guidelines yourselves if you don't already. Lab lover is right, never vaccinate a sick animal.

vaccines revisited
Why do vets combine rabies with another vaccination always?? Of all people, they should know better.

One word - $$$$$

maybe because I am obligated to examine a dog every time I give a vaccination and most people will not pay for multiple exam fees... furthermore, the Rabies vaccination is a killed virus. Some brands may have problems but several are very safe. You people always assume that we vets are only in it to make an extra buck. There may be some who do, but I think you will find that the great majority of us try to help our clients conserve when we can.

DVM