Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
AI today early or hold it?

There was a good thread that I found from 2 yrs ago comparing Camelot vs Chill 5. At the time, many favored Camelot. I have a dilemma w/ the holiday week and breeding so had to make an early decision on collection/shipping yesterday, hoping my girl was 2 days from ovulation. Ends up she's probably not ovulating until today (was 3.9 yesterday at 3pm). I had snagged the last appt for the day at 11 this am (assuming the package shows on time!) but now wonder if I should not just hold it until Thurs am which would be the +2 day most likely. I have another coming on Thurs for Fri delivery. So the Q is, is it better in the bitch, or better in the fridge? My vet has commented he thinks it lives longer in the bitch and has done 1 AI for me at day 0 w/ Chill 10 w/ a follow up at +3 w/ Chill 5 and we got a full litter of 8. I've done several at +1, +3 and had full litters. I have no experience at all w/ refrigerating Camelot, however. Stud has been producing large litters w/ other bitches and this bitch whelped 10 w/ her only other litter, using Chill 5 at +2 and +4 days. What to do, what to do.....

Re: AI today early or hold it?

I am with your vet. Better in the bitch, just in case she fast tracks this time. I have had one, a maiden, do 4.5 on a Friday, bred on Saturday as soon as we got the results, then totally OUT on Sunday--so out the stud dog sniffed her over like yesterdays news, then looked for back up (AI assistance) as he couldn't penetrate. However, if you made the other choice, that could work well, too. AI her yourself as a Christmas present? Friday will finish the job. Good luck!