Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Phenomenon of Young Dogs winning

I am curious what people's thoughts are of all the young dogs/bitches that are winning at shows. I've been showing for about 20 years (I know, not a really long time, but long enough) - seems like the average age for winning at a specialty is getting younger all the time. I keep seeing young dogs - puppies really - taking WD more often than 15-20 years ago. So my question is:

a) Are the best dogs winning young so they aren't in the classes as adults?
OR
b) Are the adult dogs overdone by the time they are adults, so aren't competitive any longer other than in Breed?

I am NOT saying there are no nice adults competing in classes, just seems the nicest overall classes at specialties are the 12-18 and younger classes - kind of a disturbing trend.

I will also say I prefer Europe's rules that basically require an adult win before a championship is given.

Re: Phenomenon of Young Dogs winning

Much is wrong in the Labrador world. Certainly no dog should be crowned a CH. before his second birthday. Things change as they become adults.

It is heartbreaking to see Labradors weighing over 100 lbs winning shows. Yes the young dogs at 80 lbs look better then the older dogs who have reached 100 lbs.

This is why Europe has much nicer looking Labradors today. Watching Crufts vs Westminster there is no comparison to the quality of Labradors.

One of the top Labradors in Europe is Loch Mor Romeo. He is winning at the age of 4 years old. Romeo is aging very fine. Why. He is not over done.

Judges pick the best dog in their opinion ON THAT DAY. I've seen 8 year old dogs win too - at huge shows - and not under American judges.

BTW - whoever is posting constantly about Romeo - if he's so good, bring him over to Potomac. Would love to see him in person and what he does there.

another opinion