Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
The Labrador RETRIEVER, the Standard and other musings....

I am going out on a limb here as I am not anonymous and I ride the fence on this working/hunting ability and conformation type thing, I want both. This thread is in response to a comment by someone in the Romeo thread about JHs being enough to show working ability and someone else’s question about judges wanting you to go nice and slow around the ring.

I started with my first Lab in 1996 in obedience. I started training for Hunt Tests in 2006, started competing in conformation in 2003. I have no champions, but one is close. I have 3 Senior Hunters, all show bred. One of those dogs, earned his first Master leg at 9, the other two will start competing in Master this spring. I do my own training and I send my dogs off to a good friend who is a field trainer. I teach obedience for pet owners and competition level classes also. My definition of what makes a good dog, conformationally, type wise and working ability wise, has changed significantly since I started.

A Master Hunter test, in recent years, does not accurately reflect a typical hunting situation. That all changed when people became competitive and Master National was born. Will I continue to do master work? I really don’t know….it’s becoming unrealistic to find the time/money and grounds to do it on your own.

A Junior Hunter title or test, only indicates that the dog has instinct. Until you start doing Senior work, which the average person can do on their own, do you really learn anything about a dogs biddibility, trainability, desire, perseverance and heart. Until you are running that dog, at a test or at a shoot with multiple guns firing, do you realize the difference between instinct and perserverance. I didn’t learn this difference until I started doing advanced work regularly.