Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Asking for Stud service

I'm a newbie. I've titled dogs in obedience and have shown conformation a little, the best we've done is Reserve. Occasionally when I've e-mailed for stud service, I'll get no reply. The kennels I've e-mailed don't list phone numbers. Sometimes I've even talked with the owners at a show in the past, but they must not remember me or don't want to give service? I do all clearances and seldom breed. I really want to improve my lines and cannot do that without breeding out of my own kennel. I don't always want to use dogs from the really big kennels which service anyone with clearances. Is giving no response to stud service requests common when you are an unknown newbie?

Re: Asking for Stud service

I have had the no response several times myself. I have learned a few things along the way. The first thing is that many breeders have busy schedules like everyone else, and it takes time to get back to you. The other thing is most breeders get 100's of emails a week, and some times cant answer them fast enough. There is also the occasion were they may not want to deal with you if they don't know you?! If I don't get an answer via email, then I will call the breeder. If all else fails, then there's many other stud dog owners who will be happy to assist you. Best of luck!

WC

I've had better luck contacting people through Facebook than email.

I have often found e-mail messages in my spam folder and since I seldom check my spam folder, there are sometimes hundreds of messages in there when I do (99.9% spam). I'm sure I'm not the only one that has this happen. Could your e-mails be getting lost or shuffled into someone's spam folder? I may be optimistic (I tend to be that way) but I don't think most don't answer on purpose. I myself try to field puppy/stud inquiries etc several times a week.