Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
swimmer puppies

I have been breeding for 15 years and now have my first litter of two puppies and both are very fat swimmers. I'm following advice posted on here in the past, but I have an additional question. I had planned to keep one of these puppies, and I am wondering if this is genetic and maybe I shouldn't plan to keep one. If anyone with previous experience with this knows, please advise. Thanks!

Re: swimmer puppies

I do not think it is genetic. Typically it is pups that are too fat--small litter or too much milk.

Limit time witth mom. Get a non-slip surface under the pups. If they already have flat chests and legs going straight out to the sides, then you will have to hobble them. Hobbling may seem cruel but it works very quickly--just a few days--to round out the ribs and get the legs back under the pup.

MWK

MWK
I do not think it is genetic. Typically it is pups that are too fat--small litter or too much milk.

Limit time witth mom. Get a non-slip surface under the pups. If they already have flat chests and legs going straight out to the sides, then you will have to hobble them. Hobbling may seem cruel but it works very quickly--just a few days--to round out the ribs and get the legs back under the pup.

MWK

Agree AND turn them on their sides whenever they are sleeping to form the chest correctly (hold gently on their side until the settle to sleep again). I had some from a great grandmother of my current 3 day old puppies, neither their grandmother or mother ever produced swimmers. I found they actually like hobbling with painter's tape because they can get around so much better.

There is a helpful page on Facebook, Swimmer Puppy,
LINK
Good info, support, links to recommendations, etc.

I had several swimmer puppies, but have not had one for years. And I bred my swimmers, so my thinking is you don't have to worry about it.