Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Am Bred vs. Open

How do you determine which to enter in? I am a newbie with a girl who has taken several RWB from the Am bred class. Would I have more chance of going WB if I entered her in the Open class?

Need a lttle advice in put as to why people enter in which class. Thanks.

Re: Am Bred vs. Open

Most will say Winners come from Open or BBE, but I know of several bitches who finished out of the AmBred Class.

Venture into Open and see how you do, and stack up against more competition. Finishing a Labrador is more of a career than a sport, lol.

I tend to think of it more as "sport" :)

If the judge believes your dog is the best on the day, it doesn't matter what class you enter her in, the judge will find her.

Good luck!

Wondering
How do you determine which to enter in? I am a newbie with a girl who has taken several RWB from the Am bred class. Would I have more chance of going WB if I entered her in the Open class?

If you are showing at an all breed show to all breed judges then if you want to win enter the open class. It isn's suppose to matter which class you are in but some judges only look at open for their winners. To a breeder judge I would take my best into the bred-by class. To a foreign judge I would enter American Bred. If you have a puppy or jr dog enter it in the proper age group and not an adult class. JMO

JMO
If you are showing at an all breed show to all breed judges then if you want to win enter the open class. It isn's suppose to matter which class you are in but some judges only look at open for their winners. To a breeder judge I would take my best into the bred-by class. To a foreign judge I would enter American Bred. If you have a puppy or jr dog enter it in the proper age group and not an adult class. JMO