Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Advice on Joint Supplements for Puppies

Any thoughts on giving a growing pup a joint supplement for support? Yes...no? If yes, what do you give and at what age do you start giving it? TIA

Re: Advice on Joint Supplements for Puppies

JMHO....I've tried all sorts of things for myself, dogs and horses with no marked improvement and/or prevention capabiities. IMHO....use glaucosamine if you like, keep their weight down, feed them good food, try to limit injuries (stuff happens) & hope for the best (and try NOT to worry about what ifs down the road).

I use it only on seniors or dogs with issues. I don't ever give to pups. It's like pouring it down the drain, IMHO

I use Glyco Flex Classic for pups.

I have been using Glycoflex for 20 years. From weaning till old age. They just take the regular glycoflex. If they have issues when older they have Glycflex II and III with larger doses for pain. It is made by Vetriscience.

I don't believe in giving supplements to growing puppies and I'm one of those who believe in letting a puppy be a puppy. I also do not believe in keeping them thin. Why? Because if they are going to have joint problems, I want to know. I don't want to coddle the dog, hold their growth back or otherwise cover up a potential genetic problem. If my dogs get through puppyhood by getting plenty of exercise and play, keeping a healthy weight, growing to their fullest potential, and without supplements and xray clear, then I know my lines have strong joints.