Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
8week old puppy with an overbite

I just bought a 8week old yellow lab yesterday, and took him to my vet for a check up. They told me he has a severe over bite and the bottom canine are putting a hole in his hard palate. Their suggestions were: A. give him back to their breeder. B. have them pulled or C.Shorten them with a root canal. The vet feels if I get them pulled his toungue will fall out, because he doesn't have anything holding it back properly. I am new to owning a dog/puppy and I am trying to figure out what to do. Will the tongue fall out if I have them pulled and will this overbite be an on going medical problem? Because according to my vet this will be an on going high medical bill if I decide to keep my puppy. Any suggestions or has anyone been through this very same problem?

Re: 8week old puppy with an overbite

Kristina
I just bought a 8week old yellow lab yesterday, and took him to my vet for a check up. They told me he has a severe over bite and the bottom canine are putting a hole in his hard palate. Their suggestions were: A. give him back to their breeder. B. have them pulled or C.Shorten them with a root canal. The vet feels if I get them pulled his toungue will fall out, because he doesn't have anything holding it back properly. I am new to owning a dog/puppy and I am trying to figure out what to do. Will the tongue fall out if I have them pulled and will this overbite be an on going medical problem? Because according to my vet this will be an on going high medical bill if I decide to keep my puppy. Any suggestions or has anyone been through this very same problem?