Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Grand Champion, Bronze champion, then what??

Grand Champion, Bronze champion, then what?? I'm new to what is beyond "titling" your dog, and notice there are levels of grand champions, how does that play out? How far can you go?

Re: Grand Champion, Bronze champion, then what??

Platinum is currently the highest level....
https://www.akc.org/press_center/article.cfm?article_id=4392

Don't worry AKC will make another level to get your money so don't think you'll run out of titles to get for your dog

Long time breeder
Don't worry AKC will make another level to get your money so don't think you'll run out of titles to get for your dog

And how much do they get from every entry out of every show? A $3.50 recording fee? Yeah they're going to get rich by keep adding titles. Did you ever stop to think that those who heavily campaign dogs like to earn more titles? Naw too easy to bash the AKC over their get rich scheme on Grand Championship titles/levels.

Really?
Long time breeder

And how much do they get from every entry out of every show? A $3.50 recording fee? Yeah they're going to get rich by keep adding titles. Did you ever stop to think that those who heavily campaign dogs like to earn more titles? Naw too easy to bash the AKC over their get rich scheme on Grand Championship titles/levels.

It's a nice option to have further titles available to earn on dogs for those that want to pursue the breed ring further. Not everyone has an interest in the performance events.