Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Roundworms

Ok, I have been breeding and showing dogs for 33 years and this is the first time i've ever had roundworms or worms for that matter in my puppies, I am grossed out, could not believe how long those worms were that came out of the pups ewwww, vet treated them with pyrantel today and gave a dose of heartguard to be given in 2 weeks, my question is this, I have 10 other dogs here all are adults and now i'm worried they might get this too, what is the best dewormer to use on them and how many times do I need to give it to them to get rid of these worms on my property? I searched the web and seems it says sunlight will kill whats in the yard and that no sprays are effective in killing them. Any advise is much appreciated.

Re: Roundworms

I'd give Panacur to the adults for three days. Also pick up poop, I know sunlight is supposed to destroy the worms, but I'd make sure all poop is pickup up even if pups run a large acreage like mine do.

I'm by no means an expert, just what I'd do. All the best!

here
I'd give Panacur to the adults for three days. Also pick up poop, I know sunlight is supposed to destroy the worms, but I'd make sure all poop is pickup up even if pups run a large acreage like mine do.

I'm by no means an expert, just what I'd do. All the best!

Thank you for your answer, pups are only 6 weeks old so they are confined to a small area (big enough for them) in the yard and believe me when I say I have been picking those horrid things up as fast as they come out, it is so gross how long those worms are that are coming out of them, anyone know how long after deworming they are all supposed to be expelled from my precious pups? Hate to see those nasty things in them

Was it the first time you wormed them at 6 weeks? Mine get wormed for the first