Labrador Retriever Forum

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Price

Puppy Buyer
Here is the issue on a cold call. Neither party knows one another. Why waste your time and mine when the price could be out of my range.

here is what I suggest to any breeder. Tell the customer up front your dogs are not cheap and why. It would take a minute to do that.

I am the type that would pay twice what you are asking if I knew it was a quality pup with minimal health issues to be faced with.

Better breeders have waiting lists or are referred by satisfied customers. Most go in knowing their family or friends paid your asking price.

I suspect those thinking it rude would also not like going to the Car dealer and have no starting price to start negotiations. Maybe some of you are like car dealers and wait to see if I am a Doctor or Lawyer with deep pockets and charge accordingly to income.

If you guys go over to the RTF forum in their classified pups are priced very clearly. Many charge way more then Show Breeders.

Back before most clubs, breeders and rescues had websites, there was newspaper advertising, even by clubs, and flyer publicity for adoption events. Our rescue was advised by a lawyer to never, ever post an adoption fee in a newspaper or at an adoption event, as that was making it so that we could not refuse any comer with the money, as we were essentially offering it for sale, as one might a home or a car. I would presume that most of us on this forum do not consider a puppy sale very much like buying a car or a shirt, and we want the right to refuse a potential buyer. We are not pet shops and do not want just anyone with enough money to be able to buy just any puppy, whether or not it is a good fit for the home.

Not a Car, not a thing